Skip to main content

Circular Design

A holistic perspective

The focus of our work is on the comprehensive optimisation of packaging systems.

 

When designing packaging, it should be a key goal to minimise the use of resources. In addition, packaging needs to be recyclable, and must cover the full range of functional requirements for packaging.

This may, in certain cases, reveal conflicting goals for the overall design of the packaging system.

Circular Analytics meets this challenge for the development of packaging and ensures sustainable optimised solutions.

Packaging offers ecological advantages

Packaging fulfils many essential roles: from protection, storage and transport functions to aspects such as easier use and the provision of product information. These functions play an essential role in sustainability as, without packaging, valuable products are likely to be damaged, and food would be lost. In many cases, the production of the packaged goods involves considerably greater environmental impacts than the packaging, and maximum product protection must thus be given top priority.

The development activities at Circular Analytics are focused on meeting the challenge of packaging optimisation, for maximum product protection.

 

In today’s social discourse, packaging has a negative image

Even though packaging can contribute to a sustainable economy, as a consumer good, its public reputation tends to be negative. Furthermore, problems such as littering, the production of emissions and use of resources for packaging have also been addressed. For these reasons, there has been a growing demand for greater sustainability in packaging design in recent years.

The declared goal of Circular Analytics is to pursue a sustainable approach to packaging in a holistic context and thus enable an improvement in packaging design to prevent negative environmental impacts. Recycling is one aspect of these endeavours and provides the basis for the transition to a circular economy.

 

The Circular Economy Package of the EU provides for an increase of packaging recycling rates

There are various initiatives focused on closing material and product loops for packaging. Circular economy has become an issue that is strongly advocated by lawmakers as well as international organisations such as the Ellen MacArthur Foundation. A circular economy increases resource efficiency and reduces dependence on resources, while at the same time it also improves the ecological sustainability of products. The Circular Economy Package of the European Union, which entered into force in July 2018, encourages a circular approach to raw materials at the European level, and has brought about an amendment to the EU Directive on packaging and packaging waste. Here, the focus is on increasing the recycling rates for all packaging materials, on the use of recycled materials in new packaging, and on intensifying extended producer responsibility schemes, as well as on limiting the marketing of individual plastic articles.

When assessing recyclability, Circular Analytics takes into account differences in national legislation as well as in collection and recovery structures. The resulting standardisation requirements are incorporated into the process of optimising packaging design, which, whenever necessary, is processed through comprehensive research projects.

In this context, Circular Analytics backs initiatives aimed at a European standardisation of assessment methods and design guidelines.

Circular packaging design is essential for the circular economy

Circular packaging design provides the prerequisites for meeting the development goals of the circular economy in the packaging industry. This includes measures aimed at maximising the period of use of materials (reuse), as well as at recycling (design for recycling) and the use of recycled materials (design from recycling).

The integration of all stakeholders in the supply chain is of key importance for a well-functioning circular economy. Circular Analytics structures, coordinates and manages design projects while taking ecological impact indicators into consideration and involving the entire supply chain to enable sustainable product development.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Circular Design

Ein holistischer Blick

Die ganzheitliche Optimierung von Verpackungssystemen steht im Zentrum unserer Arbeit.

Bei der Entwicklung von Verpackungen muss darauf abgezielt werden, dass der Ressourcenverbrauch möglichst gering gehalten wird. Zusätzlich müssen Verpackungen recyclingfähig sein und das umfassende Leistungsspektrum der Verpackungsfunktionen erfüllen.

Im Einzelfall führen diese Anforderungen zu Zielkonflikten in der Gesamtgestaltung des Verpackungssystems.

Circular Analytics berücksichtigt diese Herausforderung in der Verpackungsentwicklung und stellt ein nachhaltiges Optimum sicher.

Verpackungen bieten ökologische Vorteile

Verpackungen erfüllen eine Vielzahl an essentiellen Aufgaben. Dazu zählen die Schutz-, Lager- und Transportfunktion, ebenso wie die Gebrauchserleichterung und eine Information über ihren Inhalt. Durch diese Leistungen tragen sie wesentlich zur Nachhaltigkeit bei, denn ein Fehlen von Verpackung führt zumeist zur Beschädigung wertvoller Produkte und zu Lebensmittelverlusten. In vielen Fällen ist die Produktion des verpackten Gutes im Vergleich zur Verpackung mit deutlich höheren Umweltwirkungen verbunden, weshalb einem optimalen Produktschutz eine hohe Priorität zugewiesen werden sollte.

In der Entwicklungsarbeit von Circular Analytics steht das Produkt und dessen Schutz mit all seinen Herausforderungen im Zentrum der Verpackungsoptimierung.

Verpackungen werden im aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs negativ bewertet

Trotz der Tatsache, dass Verpackungen zu einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft beitragen können, sind sie als Verbrauchsgut in der Öffentlichkeit häufig negativ besetzt. Darüber hinaus stehen Probleme wie Littering, Entstehung von Emissionen und der Ressourcenverbrauch im Raum. Aus diesen Gründen wurde in den letzten Jahren immer eindringlicher gefordert, Verpackungen nachhaltiger zu gestalten.

Circular Analytics hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, nachhaltige Verpackungsgestaltung in einen holistischen Kontext zu setzen und somit durch ein verbessertes Verpackungsdesign vor einem schädlichen Eintrag in die Umwelt zu schützen. Recycling ist ein Teilaspekt dieser Bestrebungen und legt den Grundstein für einen Wandel zur Circular Economy.

Das Kreislaufwirtschaftspaket der EU gibt eine Erhöhung der Recyclingquoten bei Verpackungen vor

Initiativen zielen daher darauf ab, Stoff- und Produktkreisläufe der Verpackung zu schließen. Das Thema Circular Economy wird von Gesetzgebern und internationalen Organisationen, wie der Ellen MacArthur Foundation, intensiv vorangetrieben. Einerseits sollen daruch die Ressourceneffizienz erhöht und die Abhängigkeit reduziert werden, andererseits die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit von Produkten verbessert werden. Das im Juli 2018 in Kraft getretene EU-Kreislaufwirtschaftspaket enthält Vorgaben zur Förderung der europaweiten Kreislaufführung von Rohstoffen und hat zur Änderung der europäischen Verpackungs- und Verpackungsabfallrichtline geführt. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Erhöhung der Recyclingquoten aller Verpackungsmaterialien, der Einsatz von Rezyklat in neuen Verpackungen, die Ausweitung der erweiterten Herstellerverantwortung sowie die Einschränkung der Vermarktung einzelner Kunststoffartikel.

Circular Analytics berücksichtigt länderspezifische gesetzliche Bestimmungen sowie unterschiedliche Sammel- und Verwertungsstrukturen in der Bewertung der Recyclingfähigkeit. Die daraus resultierenden Standardisierungs-Anforderungen werden für die Optimierung des Verpackungsdesigns berücksichtigt, welche im Bedarfsfall durch weitreichende Forschungsprojekte abgewickelt werden.

Circular Analytics unterstützt in diesem Zusammenhang Initiativen zur europaweiten Standardisierung von Bewertungsmethoden und Design Guidelines.

Grundvoraussetzung für Kreislaufwirtschaft ist Circular Packaging Design

Circular Packaging Design schafft die Grundvoraussetzungen, um Entwicklungsziele der Kreislaufwirtschaft auch in der Verpackungsindustrie zu erreichen. Darunter werden Maßnahmen verstanden, welche eine möglichst lange Nutzungsdauer von Materialien (Reuse), sowie das Recycling (Design for Recycling), als auch den Einsatz von Rezyklaten (Design from Recycling) ermöglichen.

Fundamental für das Funktionieren einer Circular Economy ist die Einbeziehung aller Player der Supply Chain.  Circular Analytics strukturiert, koordiniert und managt Design Projekte unter Berücksichtigung ökologischer Wirkungsindikatoren und unter Einbeziehung der gesamten Supply Chain zur nachhaltigen Produktentwicklung.